Utah - Life Elevated
Bottom of state seal Home Complaints Registrations Buyer Beware Consumer Information Contact Us
 

Immigration Consultant

A person may not engage in an activity of an immigration consultant for compensation unless the person is either exempt under Utah Code Ann. Section 13-49-201 (1)(b) or registered with the Division under Section 13-49-201(1)(a).


 
Frequently Asked Questions   (click question to view answer)

A:  An Immigration Consultant means a person who provides nonlegal assistance or advice on an immigration matter, including:

  1. completing a document provided by a federal or state agency, but not advising a person as to the person's answers on the document;
  2. translating a person's answer to a question posed in a document provided by a federal or state agency;
  3. securing for a person supporting documents, such as a birth certificate, that may be necessary to complete a document provided by a federal or state agency;
  4. submitting a completed document on a person's behalf and at the person's request to the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services; and
  5. referring a person who could undertake legal representation activities in an immigration matter.

A:  A person who is either authorized to practice law in the state of Utah, or authorized by federal law to represent persons before the Board of Immigration Appeals or the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services.

A:  There is a $200.00 application fee to register with the Division of Consumer Protection.  There is a separate fee assessed by BCI for a criminal background check at rates determined by the level of service provided by that agency.

A:  An applicant must submit the application fee and submit to a criminal background check.  An applicant will be denied a permit if the applicant has ever been convicted of a felony or, within the last 10 years, a misdemeanor involving theft, fraud, or dishonesty.  An applicant must also post a cash or surety bond in the amount of $50,000.

Registration Forms
Application Form
BCI Criminial History Record Application
BCI Third Party Release Form

Statutes & Rules
Utah Code Annotated §13-49
Department of Commerce  |  About Us  |  Public Notices  |  Press Releases
consumerprotection@utah.gov  |  160 East 300 South   Salt Lake City, Utah 84111  |  Phone: 801-530-6601  |  Toll-Free: 1-800-721-SAFE  |  Fax: 801-530-6001